Show reviews that mention
host money service refund customer service reservation customer place account phone
Filter review
I connected with air BNB via my iphone 4, i booked a holiday, i selected dates, i get a message back saying i have been accepted, enter credit card details. No problem. Then, i travel 10 hrs on the road with my family, i look for a phone number of the host to make a...
View full review
View full review
ID
#624357 Review #624357 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Sydney, New South Wales
Reason of review
being scammed outright
Loss
$525
Preferred solution
Full refund
New Reviewer

Misrepresentation of apartment

On-site listing of airbnb in Stockholm indicated 3 bedroom apartment with four beds. Upon our advising the owner that the four guests were 60+ years old and after our making automatic payment in full for the apartment - owner informed us that the apartment actually had 1 adult bed and two adult size mattresses placed on the floor. Cancellation was immediately made but the airbnb service fee of $100+ has not been refunded despite our requests made to the owner and to airbnb for a service fee refund. Our refund request is due based on what we believe is a misrepresentation of the apartment's facilities. We are still awaiting response from airbnb after our having completed airbnb claim and complaint forms.
View full review
2 comments
#973765

Tried to cancel for three days in NW Florida.I'm forty days out and was told i would get half of my money back.Health reasons is the problem.Like being in school i need a doctors excuse.To go to the doctor would cost about the same amount of money i'm trying to get back.Needless to say i'm one and done with Airbnb.

#1000511
@PissedConsumer973765

What about your trip insurance?

file a claim.

Or, next time, read what you are agreeing to.

instead of being like, DURRR I agreed to something but now I wanna change it and they are asking for verification DURRR it's their fault not mine even tho I'm DURRR

View more comments (1)
ID
#623408 Review #623408 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Stockholm, Stockholm
Cons
  • Disinformation
Reason of review
Not as described/ advertised
Loss
$106
Preferred solution
Full refund

Airbnb disabled my account while traveling. i am disabled Veteran.

Airbnb disabled the account of a disabled Veteran traveling in Brasil. This has interfered with my travel plans. This has also made it impossible for me to respond to disputes with my hosts. Airbnb disabled the account of a disabled Veteran traveling in Brasil. This has interfered with my travel plans. This has also made it impossible for me to respond to disputes with my hosts. Airbnb disabled the account of a disabled Veteran traveling in Brasil. This has interfered with my travel plans. This has also made it impossible for me to respond to disputes with my hosts. Airbnb disabled the account of a disabled Veteran traveling in Brasil. This has interfered with my travel plans. This has also made it impossible for me to respond to disputes with my hosts.
View full review
ID
#622588 Review #622588 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Rio De Janeiro, Rio De Janeiro
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Preferred solution
Full refund

Unauthorized room rental

Airbnb - Unauthorized room rental
APRIL 11, 2015 Montreal, Canada To Airbnb administrators, Please note that we recently came across the listing for a rental in the property we own. The rental is posted by our tenant Vicky Vezina who is not authorized to conduct any such activity with the location, we never agreed/ consented to her renting any room. The apartment was solely leased for personal use. The below link is found on your website. https://www.airbnb.ca/rooms/37697?s=RGVq We are the owners for the property located on DeGaspe, in Villeray district based in Montreal, Quebec, Canada. The property is not insured for this purpose , hence the renters are not protected. This letter has for goal to ask Airbnb to have the rental be removed immediately. Please confirm the above will be actioned immediately. Owner Carmine Venditti Nick DiCiocco 7564-**** DeGaspe Montreal, QC Canada
View full review
2 comments
#1035893

I'm a landlord in Richmond, CA. One of my tenants is no longer living in the apartment and is full time subletting through Airbnb.

There are multiple strangers coming and going. There are babies and little kids living in the closed complex, so needless to say, this poses a problem. All of the neighboring tenants are complaining. The tenant that rents the "airbnb" unit has disconnected her phone and email.

Airbnb will do nothing to help the situation. I plan to serve a 3-day notice, but it will take a long time to get her out. Meanwhile, the other tenants will be at risk from strangers coming and going. I have been advised that I cannot stop it.

Oh, I forgot to mention that this is the second violation of the breach of the lease.

I let her off the hook with a warning the first time. It doesn't pay to be nice.

#1000512

yes, this is exactly what you should be doing, posting here.

DO NOT contact your renter and ask her WTF

DO NOT send her a registered letter notifying her of default

DO NOT try to resolve it with her or flag the listing on airbnb

DO post a random rant on an obscure website.

That'll fix it!

View more comments (1)
ID
#622572 Review #622572 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Mount-Royal, Quebec
Reason of review
Unauthorized rental
Preferred solution
Ask tenant ms Vicky Vezina to remove her posting immediately

Booking cancelled yet amount deducted that too twice

I had booked a hotel named blue lagoon in Pondicherry on 13th april 2015 but since I didn't get confirmation i cancelled it. after which I saw that although booking status is shown cancelled in my airbnb account amount of INR 667 (booking amount) had been deducted twice from my bank account. I am looking forward for its refund as soon as possible. This is really ridiculious also there is no clear directive for help following are the transaction details from HDFC bank 13-Apr-15 POS 416021****625020 AIRBNB POS DEBIT 510311****33  13-Apr-15 667.1 13-Apr-15 POS 416021****625020 AIRBNB POS DEBIT 510311****89  13-Apr-15 667.1 respond on +91-8870****63
View full review
ID
#622234 Review #622234 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Chennai, Tamil Nadu
Reason of review
Problems with payment
Loss
$22
Preferred solution
Full refund
We stayed in an Air bnb rental in Amsterdam. It was meant to be for 2 nights. We got in late on the Saturday night - the place stunk of stale smoke. We couldn't sleep and left the next day to book a hotel - pretty much ruining our trip. I left a message for the host...
View full review
View full review
2 comments
#972053

I book an apartment in Cool Bellas Artes, and the host replied after the payment that was unavailabe. I got a mail from Airbnb that because was cancelled I will get a refund.

Then in another mail I was told Irbnb will refund within 7 days through my credit card.

I email them and no answer. Where can I complain?

View more comments
ID
#621267 Review #621267 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Problems with payment

Never got paid back by Airbnb

Airbnb collected money from the client who lived at my house for 4 days, however, Airbnb has not paid me back the money it promised to pay me. It was 194 usd after they deducted their fee. Airbnb has no contact phone and they are very slow in e-mail response. What kind of company it is ? No customer service via phone! Is Airbnb legal at all? The verification process of Airbnb is totally an invasion to your privacy and they invade your whole social network and they have access to all your friends information there. Airbnb needs further approval to operate.
View full review
ID
#620741 Review #620741 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Riverside, California
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$194

Airbnb processes payment even when reservations says a question must first be answered

I made a reservation on airbnb about 20 hours ago that was contingent on the property having a queen bed (160cm) or larger, and received notice from the owner that is was only 140cm, but, at the same time, she had already processed the full payment. (Because of back issues, my husband and I don't sleep well if the bed is so small). I left a message on her phone and wrote an email to say we didn't want the rental. I also cancelled on airbnb, and was only refunded half. I have to wait if the owner is willing to refund the other half minus the $100 that it looks like airbnb intends to keep. Their site says they will not resolve the issue until the owner has had 72 hours to respond. Meanwhile, I am out almost $600, and feel I cannot go ahead with another rental until I hear back from the owner and from airbnb, so I am losing precious time. I can't understand why the airbnb site can't be like other similar sites (e.g. vrbo) and give renters the possibility of asking owners for information they do not list on their property descriptions (i.e. bed size, and many other details on "filters"). This would save so much TIME, grief and anger. I will only be satisfied if I get a FULL refund, including the $100 fee airbnb charges. I would expect that if a reservation is made and cancelled within 24 hours, it would bw entirely void -- but especially so since I stipulated I had to know the bed size before accepting the rental.
View full review
1 comment
#971757

Your expectations are not what you agreed to. Airbnb has various levels of cancellation requirements, which you obviously chose.

Where on the site did it say you could make a "contingent" booking. You could either find out before booking, or you could book. You chose to book without waiting for information so you pay the price for your impatience or "assumptions" about what "you" would like. Airbnb did nothing wrong here.

This is just the consequence of your actions.

If you are someone who needs specific accommodations, you must realize that you need to know this BEFORE booking.

ID
#620738 Review #620738 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Paris, Ile-De-France
Pros
  • Website ease of use
Cons
  • Reimbursement policy
  • Search filters
Reason of review
Order processing issue
Loss
$583
Preferred solution
Full refund

Airbnb - Website Review from Yogyakarta, Yogyakarta

I asked a host a question about a Internet, next minute airnub had taken over $1000 out of my card which I had no idea they had stored in there system!! They refunded the host amount but kept $80 ???? What for? I didn't book?? I told them about it and they said check there refund policy!!! I didn't bloody book I asked a question to a host,they gave me a $60 voucher??? Seriously why would I go back and use airnub; travel mob at Least has a useable website and some one to hep you: I hate you air bub return my money instead of saying check the conditions... I didn't book!!!!!
View full review
ID
#620493 Review #620493 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Yogyakarta, Yogyakarta
Product
Airbnb Website
Reason of review
Pricing issue

Other Product Review

Never ever use this site: they store your credit card and take money; I asked a host a question, next minute airnub had taken the whole amount if my card which I never new was stored in there system; they refunded the booking but kept $ 80,00 for what???? A question to a host? The site is set up to fleece you, that's all, used travel mob at least they have someone to help
View full review
ID
#620488 Review #620488 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Yogyakarta, Yogyakarta
Reason of review
Problems with payment

Dishonest Airbnb

Last year we leased and Airbnb flat in Paris for a week. In the middle of our rental they advised that there would be some minor plumbing work on the floor below. They then proceeded to pull out the kitchen - no water during the day - agreed to refund the fee in total. When I returned to Australia I checked my credit card and the credit was there but as I did not trust them I cancelled that card and then two days later they tried to debit my credit card without my authority - very dishonest and I would even allege a criminal act.
View full review
ID
#619163 Review #619163 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Airbnb Apartment Rental
Reason of review
Poor customer service

Hosts and AirBnB canceled our booking twice before the travel date

This is our first time deal with AirBnB for our traveling lodging needs, but it is rather a very frustrated and unhappy experience so far. Our reservation for the same duration from 5/23 to 5/26 stay in Jackson booking was canceled first time by Gregory Flynn in 2/23/2015. So we had to rebook it with another host: Christopher Clabuesch, but it was canceled by him the second time again on 4/5/2015. How could it happened twice before we even had our first chance to really stay in any of the hosts that AirBnB represented??? It is serious violation of the contractual obligation a business should uphold in the US, and indeed a breach of contract after had charged our fees fully without fulfilled what’s been contracted for. It completely ruined not only the reputation of your dishonesty hosts such as Gregory Flynn and Christopher Clabuesch, but also damaged AirBnB’s business reputation since you are the one allowed this to happen. We remain our legal rights to pursue the matter further to BBB and or other federal or state consumer protection agencies and hold AirBnB and the dishonesty hosts accountable for any breach of contract behavior.
View full review
ID
#618301 Review #618301 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Dallas, Texas
Reason of review
Order processing issue

In addition to their fat service charges, the hold 1/3rd of the proceed from rentals pretending they hold for IRS!!!

I used their system to enter m W-9 information. It did not let me. After complaining to so many representatives I was able to enter my tax credentials into the system. But I was told that they have the right to withhold 1/3rd of my rental proceeds and pay it to IRS in December!!! This is only March! I believe they want to offer IPO this year. They will claim the withhold proceeds as profit and ripp off the public by selling the the IPO at least 1/3rd more expensive. Be ware! Don't buy their IPO!! They are crooks!!! I contacted them several times but could not get anyone to speak with. Only email exchange. After charging an arm and a leg I could not even get a person to talk to.........
View full review
1 comment
#966351

If you OWE the IRS....It was going to happen, no?

You filled out the paperwork, and had owed the IRS!

You KNEW THAT! You should change your comments, and your BANK ACCOUNTS!.

If you're really in debt to IRS, I hope the property isn't in your name! They WILL take it.

ID
#614325 Review #614325 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Phoenix, Arizona
Reason of review
You operat crookedly
Loss
$336
Preferred solution
Full refund

Appalling customer service with AirBnB

Did our due diligence and research and found room with bathroom in the right location. Hostess emailed back and forth with lots of questions that we gladly answered, then accepted the booking. A couple of days before our flight to the destination, she cancelled the booking as she had accepted multiple bookings! Called customer service and got an unprofessional agent who claimed to be a customer resolutions specialist. Said she could refund my charges but said it was rare for such problems to occur with Airbnb and pressured us to accept an additional credit and book another listing. She kept emailing us other listings, without really checking the locations or what we were looking for. As we got cancelled by their host with very little time to go before the reservation, could not get exactly the same location which was important to us. Representative in Oregon, stated that she would refund our full costs or even pay for hotel if the booking was not to our satisfaction. However, when this was requested, she resisted and pressured us to go with another booking that we had concerns about as she was talking it up and it was not our original booking. When we got there, room had been misrepresented. It was much smaller, with no wifi as advertised (told to log into a ice cream parlor's wifi that did not work), no TV, no adequate bedding (that too not clean), two dirty towels and lots of rules such as leaving shoes outside room (even though it was snowing heavily outside). Listing claimed it was a walk from Metro which was not true and in an unsafe area (completely falsely advertised). Feared for safety and advised not to walk to property after dark which added to costs because cabs required to reach there. Misrepresented as studio appt with private bath!!! Photos do not reflect accurately on property. Just a spare room with deceptive advertising, Called Airbnb immediately (well within their 24 hour window to report problems) about unsatisfactory booking and told that only the same agent that had made the booking for us (in lieu of cancelled reservation) could help. Said the rep (based in Oregon) would call back soon as there was a time difference but noone else (in the whole customer service for that company) could assist. Did not hear back, called the next day, spoke to a supervisor and got a huge runaround with the line that only the same representative could refund or correct problems. By then, we had to move to a hotel at far greater cost as we had released our earlier booking when the first Airbnb reservation was confirmed/accepted!!! Still no call back from their rep, called for next five days!!! String of supervisors would not assist. Pretty rude about all the screw ups on their end and ludicrous justification of why they could not assign this to another rep while the first one was unavailable for days!!! Finally got a call as I was flying out of the town where the booking was. Called back again and again and could not get the rep! Told she was on vacation and yet no-one else would assist even though we were made to repeat the problem to about ten other agents and supervisors!!! Finally the rep called back on Tuesday, sixth day after our call to report problems. Tried to back-track on her promise to refund if not satisfied. Behaved very unprofessionally and would not say if or when she would resolve this issue. Started making lots of excuses and pretending she had to check with someone else before issuing the refund as per their policies even though each supervisor we reached insisted that she was the only person who could issue a refund based on her promise prior to accepting this alternate booking (on the rebound from the cancellation by a host). Absolutely rejected any protection for the customer even though they claim they will protect you against such outcomes!!! Had another reservation for the future that I then cancelled as their customer service is the worst I have experienced and they seem to grab your funds by hook or by crook and renege on what they told you if it means they have to refund you because of appalling response to issues (still not addressed after six days of calling!) Does anyone know who the Principals in the company are and how to file an official complaint with any oversight agencies in their home state that would look into their practices? They have lost our business and we will never trust them again!
View full review
ID
#612676 Review #612676 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Rockville, Maryland
Service
Airbnb Property Listing
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$600
Preferred solution
Full refund

AirBnB Guest stole from me...

One of the three people who I have hosted stole my old iphone (4) which I was keeping to give to my mum. i only just discovered this today. I am furious. In addition to this insane situation, two weeks ago I hosted a young woman from Singapore who had emotion issues which I got to deal with after she left. She didn't make her bed, she hid out in the bedroom the whole time, took 30 minute showers every day, she even let herself into my house without knocking or ringing the door bell. I thought I was being burgled. When I asked her why she would just walk into my house like that she shrugged. Then after she left she complained that I wasn't friendly enough, that she was going through an emotional time and I should have been more supportive. Seriously? I replied and confirmed that I offered an accommodation service not a counselling service and that it was inappropriate for her to bring her emotional baggage to the table in this situation, she continued to email me harassing me. I contacted AirBnB about her but never got a reply. I've also received threatening emails from AirBnB telling me that unless I start accepting more applications then my account would be suspended...insanity. I have removed my house from their system and will never go back to them again.
View full review
1 comment
#1000515

yeah it doesn't sound like a good fit.

it's weird to have strangers in our homes!

but that's what the PAYMENT is for.

DURRRRRR

ID
#612296 Review #612296 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Caulfield South, Victoria
Product
Airbnb Account
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution